College of Science: Search for the next Dean

Darryl Butt, Dean, College of Mines and Earth Sciences, co-chair

Denise Dearing, Director, School of Biological Sciences, co-chair

As one of the largest colleges at the University of the Utah, the College of Science is actively involved in providing transformative educational experiences for students and conducting pioneering research addressing global challenges.  The College is comprised of the School for Biological Sciences, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics, and Department of Physics and Astronomy.  The current college was founded in 1970 and has a rich legacy of sustained achievement.  Throughout the College’s history, faculty members have included a Nobel Prize winner, three recipients of the National Medal of Science, seven members of the National Academy of Science, and multiple MacArthur Fellows.  Faculty members work at the cutting edge of their fields and frequently publish in leading scientific journals.

The College of Science promotes a robust culture of dedicated discovery and supports a strong quality of life.  Employees benefit from Utah’s affordable cost of living and close proximity to world-famous ski resorts and national parks.  The area is unique in its ability to combine big city amenities and mountain adventure.  Salt Lake City’s cultural and food scenes continue to attract national attention, while the region’s spectacular mountains anchor the area’s wilderness-friendly reputation.  The Salt Lake International Airport is an easy twenty-minute drive from campus and provides non-stop departures to over 90 cities across the world.

College of SCIENCE

To create, develop, apply, and disseminate new science; to educate the next generation of scientists; to provide a strong education in science for students of other disciplines and future teachers; to promote public understanding of science, and to become one of the finest integrated science programs in the western United States.